Shardborne Deliver Details of Debut Album ‘Living Bridges’!

Shardborne 2015

Irish instrumental prog metal masters, Shardborne are pleased to announce details of their upcoming full-length debut Living Bridges which is set to be unveiled on the 10th July 2015.


“Progressive metal drawing influence from many genres such as rock, metal, jazz, alternative and instrumental music… Living Bridges is a culmination of musical styles, concepts and several years of writing.” Comments the band on the release and follow-up to their 2011 Aeonian Sequence EP.


The four-piece from Limerick, are also happy to announce that they have signed to independent Irish label Out On A Limb Records for the release.


Comments Shardborne on the signing, “We’re delighted to be working with the guys in Out On A Limb. Any help we can get getting our music out is greatly appreciated! They are really great people to be working with and they are on the same page as us about the release of the album and how to work with our music. We’ve been aware of the label for quite a while so it’s nice to be added as part of the OOAL family.”


Out On A Limb Records joint owner Ciarán had this to say about the label’s newest signing , “When [Shardborne] sent us on Living Bridges for a listen, it really exceeded my expectations. I knew a good few of the tracks from hearing them live but hearing the whole thing together brought it to a whole new level. They’ve got their shit together in every way possible, and they’re good guys too, which is an important thing when you’re running an independent label like ours.”


Renowned illustrator Duncan Storr [Skyclad] created the Living Bridges artwork. The album was recorded by the band’s Ben Wanders and Ciaran Culhane and went on to be mixed and mastered by producer Jamie King [Between the Buried and Me, Scale the Summit].


Living bridges cover 2


With their current instrumental line-up being cemented in 2010, Shardborne went on to record and release debut EP Aeonian Sequence in 2011. The four-track introduction to the band, (now available for free download on Bandcamp), drew deserved attention and lauded Shardborne with raved reviews.


[bandcamp width=585 height=120 album=17006191 size=large bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5 tracklist=false artwork=small]


“These Irish tech-proggers inhabit a similar space with their progressive instrumental riffage that falls between Atheist and BTBAM.” Commented Terrorizer Magazine about Aeonian Sequence.


Honing their creative talent into a mesmerising and exciting live show the band then hit the road, touring both their native Ireland as well as the UK and mainland Europe, sharing the stage along the way with the likes of Cynic, Chimp Spanner and Russian Circles.


Fast-forward to 2015 and Living Bridges is set to transport both Shardborne and fans to another plane of existence with its release on 10th July. The release will be supported by a launch gig in Dolan’s Warehouse Limerick and will be available on heavyweight double LP, CD, and digital format.


‘Living Bridges’ Track Listing
1. Not That Axis
2. Qualia
3. Living Bridges
4. Moving Magnetic North
5. Mind The Gap
6. Looking Down At The Sky From Above
7. Room Within A Room


Recent news articles