Northern Oak Unveil New Album Track Listing & Artwork

Northern Oak Promo 1 LR

Northern Oak, the South Yorkshire progressive folk metallers, unveil new album details, including the track listing and artwork, for ‘Of Roots And Flesh’.


Ranging from existential rage on ‘The Gallows Tree’, relentless doom and sorrow on ‘Taken’ to a desire to see the best of humanity in the title track, ‘Of Roots And Flesh’ rewards with a seamless blending of vocal styles and a fusion of electric and acoustic guitars, flutes, violins and even melodeons as the band take you on a musical journey through the nature of struggle.


See the full track listing for ‘Of Roots And Flesh’ below, which is set for release on 4th October 2014.


1) The Dark Of Midsummer
2) Marston Moor
3) Gaia
4) Nerthus
5) Isle Of Mists
6) Taken
7) Requiescant In Pace
8) The Gallows Tree
9) Bloom
10) Of Roots And Flesh
11) Only Our Names Will Remain
12) Outro


The album art, completed by Lithuanian born artist Augustinas Našlėnas, can be seen below.


Northern Oak - Of Roots And Flesh Artwork

Northern Oak are renowned for their ability to weave vicious black metal riffs with haunting flute folk melodies. Since the release of their 2010 album ‘Monuments’ the band has toured the length and breadth of the UK with their energetic live show, furthering their reputation and earning the band show time at prestigious festivals such as Bloodstock Open Air and Warhorns.


The recording of the new album was entirely funded through a Kickstarter campaign run by the band. The incredible show of support from their loyal and ever growing fan base allowed Northern Oak to record the album at Skyhammer Studios with renowned producer Chris Fielding (Primordial, Electric Wizard, Conan).

Recent news articles