Northern Oak Release New Song ‘Nerthus’ & Lyric Video

Northern Oak Promo 1 LR

Northern Oak, the South Yorkshire progressive folk metallers, today reveal a lyric video for ‘Nerthus’, a first taste of their forthcoming album ‘Of Roots And Flesh’.


‘Nerthus’ is a song that describes the worship ritual for an ancient pagan goddess of the same name. Guitarist Chris Mole elaborates: “A statue of the goddess would be carted around the island where she was worshipped to receive offerings from her followers. The statue would be taken to a sacred pool to be cleansed by a group of slaves, who would then be slaughtered, as touching the goddess and looking upon her face was considered too divine for mortals to survive. Martin’s lyrics tell the story of one slave who willingly offers himself up for this duty, seeing it as an honour and a way to atone for the worthlessness of his former life.”


“We think ‘Nerthus’ is one of the strongest songs on the album, both lyrically and musically – Martin’s lyrics are really emotive, and the song has some really powerful riffs and a solo which I really love playing.”


Watch ‘Nerthus’ Here


‘Of Roots And Flesh’ is set for release on 4th October 2014.


Northern Oak - Of Roots And Flesh Artwork

Northern Oak are renowned for their ability to weave vicious black metal riffs with haunting flute folk melodies. Since the release of their 2010 album ‘Monuments’ the band has toured the length and breadth of the UK with their energetic live show, furthering their reputation and earning the band show time at prestigious festivals such as Bloodstock Open Air and Warhorns.


The recording of the new album was entirely funded through a Kickstarter campaign run by the band. The incredible show of support from their loyal and ever growing fan base allowed Northern Oak to record the album at Skyhammer Studios with renowned producer Chris Fielding (Primordial, Electric Wizard, Conan).


Ranging from existential rage on ‘The Gallows Tree’, relentless doom and sorrow on ‘Taken’ to a desire to see the best of humanity in the title track, ‘Of Roots And Flesh’ rewards with a seamless blending of vocal styles and a fusion of electric and acoustic guitars, flutes, violins and even melodeons as the band take you on a musical journey through the nature of struggle.


‘Of Roots And Flesh’ Track Listing
1) The Dark Of Midsummer
2) Marston Moor
3) Gaia
4) Nerthus
5) Isle Of Mists
6) Taken
7) Requiescant In Pace
8) The Gallows Tree
9) Bloom
10) Of Roots And Flesh
11) Only Our Names Will Remain
12) Outro


The album art was completed by Lithuanian born artist Augustinas Našlėnas.


Pre-Order ‘Of Roots & Flesh Here:

Recent news articles