Effa Lente Release Teaser #1 From Forthcoming Debut

Promo Dave Pylon LR

It’s a little difficult to follow the norm considering that The Effa Lente Configuration: Parts 1-4 is a 44.5 minute, one track album. Usually you’d hear at least one single at some point leading to the release of a new album, but in this instance, that would be mean pre-releasing a full album. Instead, Effa Lente mastermind David Alfred Reilly will post three teasers, one per week on the lead up to the release on 14th August. And although the album is meant to be heard as one piece, these teasers will offer a brief snapshot in time as the album travels across just one of the many soundscapes contained.


Hear The First Teaser Here


Having worked in a recording studio for a number of years working mainly on music for TV and film, Reilly explains how it would be a movie that inspired the album, “The idea started one night while I was watching a Quentin Tarantino movie, and the thought occurred to write a piece of music where, much like the movie, the resolution of various parts wouldn’t necessarily happen immediately, they could happen somewhere later in the piece. And also, not everything in the music would be about ‘the plot’, it would go off at various tangents in between the main events. Again, just like the movie.”


“What started out as a single piece of music that lasted around 15 minutes, quickly expanded as more and more music was written. Eventually there were 4 distinct parts spread out over 45 minutes, with each part containing its own parts within, but the plan was to keep them all together as one continuous piece, rather than present them separately. This would not only be a challenge for the writer/performer, but also for the listener.”


“The end result is a 44.5 minute piece, sounding like a cross between a prog band and a film score. A unique musical experience.”


Effa Lente - The Effa Lente Configuration Parts 1-4 Artwork

Artwork (as seen above) was done by Ewa Miszczak at Emoi Art. The album was composed, performed, produced and mixed entirely by David Alfred Reilly in his own studio in Dublin before Richard Dowling (Anathema, Brian Eno, Carcass) took over for mastering detail.


The Effa Lente Configuration: Parts 1-4 is due for release on CD 14th August 2015.



Recent news articles